Each year at the annual conference, PTC offers two named awards for excellence in research:

  • The Meheroo Jussawalla Research Prize Award for best overall participant research paper
  • The Yale M. Braunstein Student Prize Award for best student research paper


PTC awards the Meheroo Jussawalla Research Prize Award to the best participant research paper at PTC’s annual conference. The award, which is named in honor of the late international telecommunications scholar Meheroo Jussawalla, is open to all participants at the annual conference with research papers accepted for presentation.

To Submit a Proposal

For a chance to speak at PTC’18, please submit proposal (full paper not required at time of submission) by 26 July 2017. If proposal is accepted for conference, the full paper must be submitted by 29 September 2017 for award consideration.

Please visit the submission site for more details.


The 2017 Meheroo Jussawalla Research Prize Award recipient is Rob Frieden, Pioneers Chair and Professor, Telecommunications and Law, Pennsylvania State University.

Professor Frieden’s paper, titled Grey Nuances in the Black and White Debate Over Subsidized Internet Access, examines current disputes whether national regulatory authorities should permit broadband carriers and content providers, such as Facebook, to subsidize broadband access to a limited “walled garden” of content.

Professor Frieden presented his paper during the Research Workshop on Models for Adoption and Broadband Diffusion at PTC’17.



Dr. Chun Liu, Associate Professor, School of Economics and Management, Southwest Jiaotong University, People’s Republic of China


Sung Wook Ji, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Media and Information, Michigan State University, USA

Young-jun Choi, Professor, Department of International Business and Trade, Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea

Min Ho Ryu, Internet Research Team Leader, Naver Open Research Infonet (NORI), NAVER Corporation, Republic of Korea


The Yale M. Braunstein Student Prize Award is awarded to the best student research paper at PTC’s annual conference.

The late Yale Braunstein, a long-time PTC member, initiated the award in 2007. The award was originally named after Yale’s father, O. S. Braunstein. This year, with approval from the Braunstein family, the award was renamed the Yale M. Braunstein Student Prize Award.

The prize is valued at over USD 2,000 and includes a USD 1,000 cash award, conference registration, and up to USD 1,500 for travel and accommodations to present at PTC’s annual conference.

To Submit a Paper 
Student authors (with a 2018 or later graduation date) should upload their full paper (not a proposal), and proof of current student status at time of submission. Deadline for the paper and proof of status document is 1 September 2017.

Please visit the submission site for more details.


The 2017 Yale M. Braunstein Student Prize Award recipient is Maria Massaro, a doctoral student from Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden.

Maria’s paper, Declining European Union’s Effectiveness in the International Telecommunication Union: Evidence from Recent World Radiocommunication Conferences, analyzes the effectiveness of the European Union (EU)’s role in shaping international radio spectrum regulation by examining the EU’s objectives prior to the three World Radiocommunication Conferences and then comparing them to the outcomes.

Maria presented her paper in a Research Topical Session on Approaches to Managing Broadband, Spectrum and User Perceptions at PTC’17.


(known as O.S. Braunstein Student Prize Award prior to 2017)


Marcela Gómez, Doctoral Student, School of Information Sciences, University of Pittsburgh, USA


Tyler Tokunaga, Undergraduate Student, Marshall School of Business and Dornsife School of Letters, Arts and Sciences, University of Southern California, USA

Start typing and press Enter to search